What is Ceremonial grade matcha? What are other types of matcha?

September 2, 2020

Ceremonial grade matcha is the highest quality matcha

Ceremonial Grade matcha is the tea of chanoyu (Japanese Tea Ceremony).

The 2 highest-quality matcha teas are koicha (thick) and usucha (thin).

In English thick is ceremonial grade and thin is premium grade matcha

Tea Ceremony Grade Matcha
Ceremonial Grade Matcha

In Tea Ceremony thick tea is brewed with less water.

Matcha preparation is personal. and there are no rules outside of Tea Ceremony.

If you are new to matcha it may take you 2 or 3 attempts to find the concentration that is right for you. Thick tea, when prepared in the tea ceremony, is very thick, like syrup. If you whisk thin tea this way it might be somewhat bitter.

Thin tea is premium grade matcha

There are other grades of matcha (culinary grade, etc.). This article will focus on the finest matcha you can purchase online. Shipped fresh from Japan!

Premium Grade Matcha
Premium Grade Matcha

There are other grades (culinary grade, etc.) but this article will describe koicha and usucha (the two highest grades of matcha).

While there is a qualitative difference between them (thick matcha is composed of the highest quality leaves) there is also a significant difference in cost.

This wonderful tea comes from gyokuro leaves that have been steamed and dried. All stems and veins are removed. The pure dried leaves are then stone-ground into a superfine powder. Matcha is uniquely Japanese.

Leave a comment

Name .
Message .

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published